Experimenting and Practice

Bookbinding –  

After completing the bookbinding workshop, where I made four books, (1 zine, 1 Piano bind and 2 stab binds) I realised that the book binding techniques are not separate techniques where only one is used to create a particular look of book but are various methods which are often combined to increase the strength of the binding, therefore what may look like a crisp and clean outward appearance may underneath use a technique which on it’s own would look messy and exposed.

Zine

DSC_0044.JPG

Piano bind

DSC_0042.JPG

Stab and Hemn binding

DSC_0043.JPG

This has lead to me to explore the bookbinding techniques in more depth going back over the processes I had written down and making a clearer mental picture to work towards leading to me practicing these techniques starting with getting the signatures as neat as possible.

Starting this I’ve begun by creating a rectangle using the golden rule to make the most aesthetically appeasing shape for the book, I then cut the shape out of paper to make a template to mark all the pages out with.

DSC_0040.JPG

After cutting out all the sheets I began folding and arranging them into signatures but then after research and seeing that it’s recommended to fold after arranging them not before, which I tried and found it looks a lot better.

DSC_0047.JPG

DSC_0048.JPG

First attempt at a kettle stitch style text block bind.

DSC_0050.JPG

 

The thread kept knotting a lot and I couldn’t manage to keep all the loops and weavings the same tautness throughout, but other than those mistakes it turned out okay for my first text block bind.

Second attempt.

_20170428_161928.JPG

This time the end result turned out much better, the tautness is even and during the making process I encountered far less knots. The only negative is to do with the stage before where the paper isn’t all equal however with this being just a practice piece using lower quality paper, during the actual production I will spend more time sizing each sheet.

One thought on “Experimenting and Practice

  1. Excellent post. I am flabbergasted as contained marrow. I’ll do one’s best to drop in in more frequently and see this site. Godspeed is in your pains. Describing posts on your web page. I was inspired to you. I would recommend to every and add to overlap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

